Rend Collective; Finding Encouragement in their music.

Hey Everyone!

Over the past year, or so, I have definitely been listening to Rend Collective and I Am They a lot.

I don’t know about the rest of you, but for me I have struggled to enjoy contemporary Christian music that all the Christian radio stations play. A lot of it has to do with the style of the music. While I get that it is geared for Worship and Worship services, and I can handle a certain amount of it (especially when it is similar to I Am They’s Amen). The style of a lot of it, is hard for me to get into, as it is not the style I listen to on a regular basis.

When I was younger, and going to youth activities and events I had to listen to a lot more of the contemporary christian music.

When I was in College I found the group Celtic Thunder, which is still my favorite group (the original 5 + Neil), but they aren’t Christian. I also really liked the style of Mumford and Sons (again not a Christian group, the use of profanity in several of their songs makes that clear).

The Summer I got saved, I was introduced to Rend Collective’s music, and some of their music has a similar style musically to that of Mumford and Sons and the more traditional Irish style (as they are Northern Irish). For example their song “More than Conquerers” definitely reminds me of the style of Mumford and sons.

The fact that I was won over by Rend Collective, and more willing to listen to more Christian Music, kept me coming back to them, and watching their youtube videos. As I watched more of those videos, I learned more about their ministry and message. The message that they are all about is simplicity, both in terms of the gospel and the style of worship, as well as authenticity of worship and serving the Lord, as well as the inclusivity of the Gospel, and that we are all part of the church.

I know God has used their music and ministry to reach me, and help me understand what God wants me to be doing with my life, and that there is more to life and being a Christian that just going to church every week, and warming a pew, and being a half hearted Christian. A lot of Rend Collective’s music videos take place outdoors, and / or around a Campfire. That whole getting outside, away from the city and everything going on, and the hustle and bustle, to just connect with God in his creation is what I am all about. Being part of the church is more than going to church, and we have to get out of our comfort zones to help grow the kingdom.

I had the opportunity and privilege to see Rend Collective perform live about a year ago, and it was amazing. While it was a “concert”, it was also one great big worship service. It was amazing.

Leave a Reply

