Guest Preachers and Great Sermons

Hey Everyone!

Last week was a week of special meetings at church. During the week there are extra church services, during which a few of the visiting ministers and pastors from the branch churches preach the sermon. For those of us who live here, it is a treat. I have nothing against the pastor of my church, it is just nice to hear someone else every now and again. Every minister has their own style, and each style works for different people. 

Sunday morning the minister who gave the sermon delivered a great sermon. Off the top of my head, I can’t recall actually having heard him preach, unless I had 11 years ago when I had attended Midwest camp, but I can’t tell you who preached in those services, so for all intents and purposes, this was the first time I had heard him preach. 

His style kind of reminded me of being in the more interesting college lectures I have been in. How he presented his sermon, made the message, that I have heard my entire life, relevant. As I was sitting there listening to it, the message totally registered, and I knew that I had needed to hear that sermon, things clicked. 

The point of the sermon, was that light always overcomes and trumps the darkness, and those who have surrendered their life to God, and have a personal relationship with Christ have the light in our lives, and he will help us overcome the darkness and light our way. 

Leave a Reply

